Question on Import 3DS (New Bryce User)

theschemertheschemer Posts: 68
edited February 2014 in Bryce Discussion

Hi Byrcers, :-)
I just bought Bryce yesterday so I am a complete noob for now but had an important question. I was trying to import some free 3D object files to see how that worked and ran into a few snags. I tried some Collada files from Google Warehouse and they failed to import with a "Generic Error". So I tried some free 3DS files and one worked straight away but the other 2 I imported tried to find the texture maps (that were actually there) but the default had the names misspelled by 1 letter and no matter what I tried the texture maps would not open so I just cancelled through until I got the basic shape on the screen. Is this normal? Are some format types better than others to use? Also, any good must have add-ons for Bryce for my enjoyment that are considered beneficial to a noob? :grrr:
Thanks,
theschemer

Post edited by theschemer on

Comments

• HoroHoro Posts: 10,069
    edited December 1969

Welcome to Bryce and this forum. Best format to import is Wavewfront OBJ. I had issues with many at times but not yet with OBJ.

• theschemertheschemer Posts: 68
    edited December 1969

Ok, that will get me off to a better start. I appreciate it.
    theschemer

• gholacikgholacik Posts: 4
    edited December 1969

log onto this page for tons of free bryce scene files, mats and skies to play with. add to, take apart whatever you want.
    http://www.sharecg.com/pf/full_uploads.php?pf_user_name=alymac
    enjoy!

edited December 1969

gholacik said:
    log onto this page for tons of free bryce scene files, mats and skies to play with. add to, take apart whatever you want.
    http://www.sharecg.com/pf/full_uploads.php?pf_user_name=alymac
    enjoy!

Thanks gholiac, that is a generous offering of some nice usable stuff. I appreciate the link and the help.
    theschemer

• Dave SavageDave Savage Posts: 2,433
    edited December 1969