Lightning Network Render is Blank

rlamb1rlamb1 Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in Bryce Discussion

I was so proud of myself setting up 7 computers to render an animation with Bryce Lightning 2. Everything seemed to be working. I could see the tiles listed and percentages of completion as each frame was rapidly rendered. No error messages or warning icons. The file size on my drive was appropriate for the duration of the movie when finished. BUT when I viewed the movie nothing was visible, not even sky. Just a blank gray screen about the shade of this forum's background. I tried another test on a single frame. Same results. The animation renders fine on my "server" outside of the network render environment, but takes a very long time because of complexity.

I would really like to use Lightning to speed up my renders. What am I missing?

Comments

• Rashad CarterRashad Carter Posts: 1,799
    edited December 1969

This is strange indeed. I have no experience with lightning but people do use it to speed up their Bryce renders. Hopefully Horo will chime in with some advice.

• HoroHoro Posts: 10,119
    edited December 1969

I have never network rendered animations, only stills. What I experienced at some times was an incomplete blue-only render. It turned out that the scene was very memory intensive and one of the clients had not enough memory. I suggest to render only one or a very few frames, this might help you find the problem without losing too much time. You may start with excluding one client, then another since the render is fine on the hosting machine.

• rlamb1rlamb1 Posts: 0
    edited December 1969