Text Input? Or am I over thinking this!

KimberSueKimberSue Posts: 353
edited December 1969 in Technical Help (nuts n bolts)

I am new to making textures and need some input or to know if I am over thinking this which I often do. I use corel draw x4, paint.net and gimp when making textures.

On this Halloween texture, I need to make the pumpkin on the shirt look more part of the shirt rather than sitting on top of the shirt.

The third image has the most pumpkin art effects.

Thanks
Kimberly

Comments

• Joe CotterJoe Cotter Posts: 3,259
    edited December 1969

Two things:

1. The colors used in the pumpkin vary in tonality from the underlying color palatte (of the shirt) and if you bring this closer it will help, either by modifying colors or by using a filter layer above the images to blend them.

2. Try a Gaussian blur on the edges of the pumpkin to help it blend better into the underlying image. This should probably be point 1.

• TrishaTrisha Posts: 86
    edited December 1969

Heya,

It might blend a bit more if you erase the fine line of white around the edge of the pumpkin. I've found with my own work that sometimes when I add an image with a transparent background that it kind of has that white around the edge and when I erase it it seems to blend much better. Maybe you could add a blanket stitch or something around the outside of the pumpkin too, so it looks more like an applique (not sure of the spelling on that one lol).

• KimberSueKimberSue Posts: 353
    edited December 1969

Thank you both for the input. It is very very helpful.

edited July 2012

Well a Gaussian blur to the edge effectively gets rid of the white line.

Post edited by Joe Cotter on
  • ChoholeChohole Posts: 33,604
    edited December 1969

I use Photoshop when making my textures, and use the layers to blend designs, things like "overlay" will blend things in more if you want the pumkin to look more as though it is painted into the main design

edited December 1969