Trying optimize my new system

sarge74sarge74 Posts: 121
edited December 1969 in Technical Help (nuts n bolts)

HI
I've been a big fan of DAZ for years and have been learning and playing with version 3.2 for a while. It got to the point where it was fun and easy but I was pushing my old video card and 2 gig of Ram to the limits. I'm no expert on computer stuff but I knew I needed more. A good friend who is one of those computer savy guys hooked me up with a new GeForce GTX560 video card, upped me to 8 gig of Ram and I installed windows 7 64 bit. Now I'm still struggling with the new format of Daz 4 Pro (Downloaded the 64 bit version today), but I figure I'll get used to it eventually. (Daz 3 was like an old buddy. I miss it!) My question would be, what can I do to set up my system and Daz studio to get the most out of my new stuff. I'd like to make renders go faster and eventually get into the animation.
Suggestions?
Thanks everyone.

Comments

• nitehawk_ltdnitehawk_ltd Posts: 387
    edited December 1969

sarge74 said:
    HI
    I've been a big fan of DAZ for years and have been learning and playing with version 3.2 for a while. It got to the point where it was fun and easy but I was pushing my old video card and 2 gig of Ram to the limits. I'm no expert on computer stuff but I knew I needed more. A good friend who is one of those computer savy guys hooked me up with a new GeForce GTX560 video card, upped me to 8 gig of Ram and I installed windows 7 64 bit. Now I'm still struggling with the new format of Daz 4 Pro (Downloaded the 64 bit version today), but I figure I'll get used to it eventually. (Daz 3 was like an old buddy. I miss it!) My question would be, what can I do to set up my system and Daz studio to get the most out of my new stuff. I'd like to make renders go faster and eventually get into the animation.
    Suggestions?
    Thanks everyone.

The way I understand it, DS3.2 and DS4.x are loaded in 2 different directorys.