A possible stupid question about the CMS for DS4Pro and DS4.5 "Closed"

JaderailJaderail Posts: 0
edited July 2012 in The Commons

I was just day dreaming about how nice it would be if I could test the DS4.5 RC2 along side my DS4Pro with paid for plug-ins. Okay, I know that no version of DS before would allow you to run the Full version and the Beta versions side by side, I dont think, but all the beta versions before DS4.5 were able to run the Full versions Plug-ins.

I understand that the SDK is not a final release (is it?) and that the CMS and it's database conflict or get shared by DS4Pro or DS4.5. Is their no way to code the CMS so it is Version specific? I have more than one Database on my PC all designed with "XL" and they do not conflict, each is only called by the program written for it and I can code the controller to call only the database for that software and make it version specific. I'm not a pro just a plunk-er so I'm asking to see if it could be done. And why not leave the redundant script call's in the new version of DS so the Beta's will run the bought Plugins. Just make a List and "REMARK"s that should be removed before compile of the next version?

I also know that I'm just asking the Admin's and the Mod's and possibly the CV's because the Pro's of DAZ 3D are not in the Forums much, so this will probably never be seen by anyone that codes the software.

This is not against anything done so far, I'm just wondering.

Post edited by Jaderail on

Comments

• Kendall SearsKendall Sears Posts: 2,995
    edited December 1969

Yes, you can run multiple instances of ValentinaDB on the same machine. However, it is not trivial to set up. If you aren't afraid of some config file editing and some Windows Service acrobatics then it can be done. You will have to stop, change, restart, run between each version.