Envirenment taking forever to render.

Sorry if this question have been asked before but this is the "Problem"

I have been using daz for 7 months and one thing is still a mystery !

How to light an Iray scene without it taking forever to render.

So I load envirenment and place caractor and render , render time 8-9 hours.

I remove celing of envirenment , render time 20 mins ?!?

Shure light effects are gone but now I can render a scene before I die :)

I wonder why it takes so much longer to render when using lights rather than sunlight ?

Have tryed to remove a wall not in sight but that doesn't help.

I have only been using the deafult lights that came with daz so Im wondering if I need to buy better light sources or something to make things  work.

Basicly render time I could lve with maybe 3-4 times inside rather than outside but 10-20 times I can't :)

Comments

• If you are looking at an enclosed space (such as a room) and the light is external (HDRI environbment, Sun/Sky, or Distant Lights) then you are relying on the light that bounces in through any openings and then bounces around inside the room to light surfaces - Iray is usually good at optimising for the former, so that it isn't wasting a lot of rays on the unseen outside of the room, but there isn't anything much it can do about the latter. If you want to speed renders you need more direct light filling in the places that are slow to converge (lose their noisiness) - one common solution is ghost lights, simple surfaces (such as a plane primitive) with the Emissive preset applied and their Cutout Opacity reduced to a very small, but not zero, value: there are sets of Ghost Lights in the store. You will to render with the Environment Mode set to one of the options including Scene for those to work, and you will probably need to adjust the Tone mapping settings too (what works for a bright day outside, the default values, won't work indoors).

• cypher969cypher969 Posts: 26