Hello from a new guy!

bockbmgbockbmg Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in Hexagon Discussion

I just bought Hexagon, and downloaded DAZ Studio 4.6 Pro.

I'm a professional wood worker, with a CNC router table, and my goal with this 3D software is to create models that can then be converted to reliefs so I can tool-path them and route them out of wood & other materials on my 3-axis CNC machine.

I'm just getting into this 3D thing, and will have a million questions.

Chris

Comments

• SylvanSylvan Posts: 2,681
    edited December 1969

Howdy and welcome!
    The people on this forum are very helpful so feel free to stop by if you need advice or get lost in the software :)

• bockbmgbockbmg Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

Thanks for the welcome... I'm already lost, so I'm sure I'll be in here often! Haha

Chris

• TjebTjeb Posts: 507
    edited December 1969

Welcome on the site. Hope you enjoy.

I just typed '3-axis CNC machine' in the Google-Images search field to get an idea, but it was like expected.
    For my curiosity, in what formats (.obj, .STL, .3DS) can you export to machines like that?

• bockbmgbockbmg Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

tjeb said:
    Welcome on the site. Hope you enjoy.

I just typed '3-axis CNC machine' in the Google-Images search field to get an idea, but it was like expected.
    For my curiosity, in what formats (.obj, .STL, .3DS) can you export to machines like that?

The file types that can be used to create 3D tool paths depend on the tool path software you have. I just bought the entry level ArtCAM Express to expand my current 3D machining capabilites. As far as 3D models, it's able to tool path obj, stl, 3ds, 3dm, 3da, 3dp, u3d, rlf, & dmt. It'll also handle 20+ 2D raster & vector files.

The (very) simplified process goes like this: