Can I import OBJ into DAZ??

StevieDStevieD Posts: 103
edited December 1969 in Daz Studio Discussion

I bought "DSF Toolbox" thinking it would convert OBJ files for import into DAZ but I can't figure it out. Doesn't look like it does what I want. I have imported OBJs into DAZ but none of the materials come in and I can't seem to assign any materials to the OBJ because it is one solid object not a model with parts. Also I thought I could bring it into Hexagon but Hexagon keeps crashing. I'll try uninstalling and reinstalling it. There must be some easy way to do this.

Please be kind. Even though I am older, I am basically brand new to DAZ in particular and I really haven't done any modeling or animation in the current atmosphere. Years back, i started to dabble but then dropped out for other things. I am still in the "getting a feel for DAZ", learning how do do things, and how things work stage. Any help would be appreciated. By the way I did do a search for this topic but nothing much came up. DAZ has some really good models available but it doesn't have everything. I really need to have available some of the stuff they have on the outside world, most in other formats.

Thank You

Comments

• WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 37,711
    edited December 1969

well you just import obj as obj (or drag and drop it into studio and the import dialogue will come up) and it is one solid thing, the material zones depend on the uv mapping, you should have a material file to go with the obj and maybe some maps.
    without it there will be no surfaces in the surfaces tab.
    you can send to Hexagon and add uv mapping ie box, planar and export it again as an obj so it is mapped
    but
    it will not use the original textures.
    to make seperate objects it would need to be broken up in say Hexagon or another modeling app and each bit imported seperately.

• ReDaveReDave Posts: 815
    edited December 1969