Does anyone use Carrara for Modeling?

scottidog2scottidog2 Posts: 319
edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

Do you use Carrara Vertex Modeling facility to model objects?
Is the Modeling workflow efficient or is it too limited in its features and tools?
What are the frustrations you've had with Modeling in Carrara?

Comments

• ncampncamp Posts: 345
    edited December 1969

Used to use it a lot. I'm learning modo now, so I don't use it as much.

I think it is a pretty good modeler. There are some tools that hex had that I missed, but there are work arounds for those. Hex crashed a lot with me, but Carrara has been reliable.

ncamp

• scottidog2scottidog2 Posts: 319
    edited December 1969

Modo is very good for Modeling and has many tools that are efficient. I started learning Cinema 4D as it plays very nicely with after effects and Photoshop. I like cinema a lot and Bodypaint is there for texturing. I am using Carrara for the Poser/Daz models, posing and rendering features.

• 3DAGE3DAGE Posts: 3,311
    edited December 1969

Hi Scottidog 2

Do you use Carrara Vertex Modeling facility to model objects?

Yes, all the time

Is the Modeling workflow efficient or is it too limited in its features and tools?

You can make anything you want to,. how you make it, and whether that's perceived as "efficient" depends on your work-flow and modelling experience,. ...and possibly,. what other modelling programs you're comparing it with.

it's certainly more efficient to model in carrara, than jumping between different applications importing and exporting, plus finding and fixing any issues caused by that work-flow

What are the frustrations you’ve had with Modeling in Carrara?

None,. I had already learned how to build models using box modelling, before I found carrara.

Initially there's a perception that you can only make one model at a time,.
    You can only work on one vertex model at a time, but that "Vertex model" can include multiple unconnected meshes.