How do I improve?

edited December 1969 in New Users

I've asked a few questions here before, figured its time to show something, the attached picture is basically as good as I can do with the knowledge I have gained since getting daz 4.6 just over a month ago.

I want to know how to improve the render results I'm getting using what the program can do. I have no knowledge of lighting, render settings (using 3delight) Or what any of the options in the surfaces (colour) menu do, or if they would even help, I have the Subsurface Shader Base, but don't know what its does.

Basically, educate me, or at least point me in the right direction.

Comments

• Herald of FireHerald of Fire Posts: 3,504
    edited December 1969

The best way to learn is to do. Play with settings so you can figure out how each one works and pull apart existing materials to see how they got the effects. Finding the best way to do a certain type of work is really half the art in itself, and everyone learns at their own pace. However, I will offer a few simple tips.

1) Work with light sources. Lighting can really make or break a scene and will aid greatly in giving your characters a sense of depth. It's also a requirement for certain types of effects such as subsurface scatter, which really works best in raytraced lighting environments. Getting good lighting for a given scene can be half the battle finished, and is also one of the trickier aspects to master.

2) Learn the basic shaders before branching out to more complex ones. Diffuse maps are your paint, specular maps are your shine and bump and displacement maps are your roughness. If you get confused about a particular option. then feel free to ask. Most people here are friendly enough to lend a paw.

3) UberEnvironment lighting with a single direct light can give you a very nice look with minimal effort. You'll need to play around with the intensity of both lights however.