Seeking Hexagon wisdom - folding, bending a plane?

jashart_primejashart_prime Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in Hexagon Discussion

I've been using Hexagon casually for several years now, but have definitely not mastered the finer points and would appreciate any pointers.

I'd like to take a plane and realistically fold one part over the remainder, like partially folding a blanket. Ideally it would appear to have slight cloth thickness. The efforts I've made have been way off base so far; whenever I select part of a plane and rotate it around, the faces that connect the two parts stretch like taffy, amongst the many issues I've encountered.

This may be laughably simple to the experts but I find Hexagon maddeningly non-intuitive. If anyone can spare the time for some advice it would be most welcome.

Thanks,

James

Comments

• GhostmanGhostman Posts: 215
    edited December 1969

Have a look at Tools / Utilities / Bender and see if that helps.

• jashart_primejashart_prime Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

Yeah, I'm familiar with bender--the problem I have with it, you can only use it once on an object, and my efforts with it ended up looking like stiff cardboard or something. To get a realistically folded cloth is going to require more, like bunching and then folding, or some combination of actions. I don't know, maybe it's not really doable in the way that I had in mind. I just thought based on what I've seen with some clothing that's been given a dynamic look, perhaps there was a process I've missed out on; but certainly those really complex clothes may have been modeled in something other than Hexagon.

• RoygeeRoygee Posts: 2,247
    edited December 1969

Is this something like what you're looking for?

blanket.jpg
    800 x 475 - 68K
    edited December 1969