Super Slow Rendering! AUGH!

libbishlibbish Posts: 0
edited June 2012 in New Users

I'm trying to render my image, but whenever I try to put it to the highest quality, it wont render it. I left the house for 3 hours with the rendering at 1%, and when I came back, it hadn't moved an inch. I know it takes a while if you want the best quality, but I don't think it should take that long! Do I need to set up my computer in a different way? I am new to this, so any advice will help :)

Post edited by libbish on

Comments

• Sfariah DSfariah D Posts: 25,701
    edited December 1969

You went to three houses? or is your computer in three houses?

Okay what are the specs of your computer?

• libbishlibbish Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

Sorry, I meant hours :b It's a toshiba laptop; satellite C655D; AMD C-50 Processor; 3.00GB RAM; 64-bit operating system; windows 7

• Scott LivingstonScott Livingston Posts: 4,331
    edited June 2012

That sound similar to what I have. Good quality renders take me anywhere from about 1 hour to over 24 hours, depending on the scene (this is in DS4 with 3Delight--not Reality and LuxRender).

What is your scene like? Do you have a lot of different people (with hair)? Do you have many plants or other transmapped objects? What lighting are you using? What is the shading rate (under Render Settings)? And what is the image size?

Post edited by Scott Livingston on
  • libbishlibbish Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

There's hardly anything in the scene since I'm still figuring out how to use the software. It has one person with hair. It says my shading rate is at 1.00. My pixels are set at 650 X 550. Lighting is UberEnvironment2 bounce

• JaderailJaderail Posts: 0
    edited December 1969