Installer error: cannot find a required path

keith.pickeringkeith.pickering Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in New Users

Ultra-newbie here. First time downloading/installing DAZ 3D, I get the following error:

"Install Manager cannot find a required path. The installer for "GoZ for DAZ Studio 4.5+ (Win 32-bit)" requires that the installed path for "DAZ Studio 4.5 (32-bit)" be defined. Make sure that a path for this application is present on the "Applications" page of the "Settings" dialog, then try again. "

No idea what the "settings" dialog is or how to reach it. It's apparently not part of the installer.

Two out of eight initial downloads failed with this error (both the 32 bit and 64 bit DAZ Studio). The two photoshop bridges failed to install too, but that's not unexpected as I don't have photoshop.

Comments

• JaderailJaderail Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

Your installing the Plugin's before the DAZ Studio file is installed.

Capture1.png
    705 x 216 - 25K
  • keith.pickeringkeith.pickering Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

Does that mean I have to uninstall the plugins, then install studio, then install plugins in that order?

edited December 1969

Ok, just uninstalled all 4 installed packages, and tried the re-install of Studio (only) in both 32 bit and 64 bit. Same error.

edited December 1969

I'm pretty sure you will need to. The Path for DAZ Studio needs defined before the plugins can register I believe.

edited December 1969

That didn't work. See previous post.

edited December 1969

I've never used DIM to install a Application. I hand Installed DAZ Studio and and let it install default. I then used DIM for the other content.

edited December 1969

Sounds great in theory, but since I downloaded the software with DIM, I have no idea where it stashes the download files and no idea how to install it by hand.

So from here it just looks like a big ol' bucket of fail for DAZ3D's free software. I guess you get what you pay for.