Cover Art WIP

BrotherloboBrotherlobo Posts: 495
edited March 2013 in Art Studio

Greetings all. I've been away from DAZ for the last few months, concentrating on my writing. I dusted off DAZ a couple of weeks ago and updated everything. Then, this past Monday I was to tired to write conherently so I started playing around with cover art ideas for my upcoming fantasy novel: Darkness Falls (Tales of the Wolf - Book 3)

Here's what I've come up with atm. Same image just changed the background. No postwork atm, all DAZ.
I'm open to suggestions and comments.

Thanks in advance

Post edited by Brotherlobo on

Comments

• MimicMollyMimicMolly Posts: 2,093
    edited December 1969

In my opinion, the background would be a lot better if it was a mix of the black and the red. Red near the sun and black towards the bottom. Other than that, it's looking good.

• SteveM17SteveM17 Posts: 971
    edited December 1969

I prefer the first background myself.

• BrotherloboBrotherlobo Posts: 495
    edited December 1969

Okay, I went back in and rebuilt the image. New placements, camera angle, lighting and completely reworked the female character.
    I'm happier with this one but it's still not perfect. Suggestons and comments welcome.

Darkness-Falls-Cover-4d-small.jpg
    1000 x 1125 - 621K
  • wancowwancow Posts: 2,708
    edited December 1969

I like the concept. Suggestion: lower your focal length, and move the camera closer and lower, so that you're looking slightly up. This will make the main characters big in the image, larger than life. You can also try out different angles from above and below.

Examples:
    http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_R-WhB9g9eYk/TNn8CbzS-MI/AAAAAAAAAP8/xVAWu3WMF8o/s1600/frank_frazetta_thedisagreement.jpg
    http://www.wallsave.com/wallpapers/1366x768/battle/167841/battle-death-knights-fantasy-art-ravens-167841.jpg

edited December 1969

wancow said: