Internet Sales Tax Coming Up For Vote- Paying Tax on DAZ Products?

NovicaNovica Posts: 23,859
edited May 2013 in The Commons

http://news.yahoo.com/senate-bill-lets-states-tax-internet-purchases-071827312.html

I've been a small business owner and sold both online and in a brick and mortar location, so I understand both positions on taxing online purchases.But as a consumer- it's something to think about if you're planning on becoming deeply invested with DAZ products or other 3d stores. You might soon have to pay sales tax for your state. DAZ shopping cart will have it automatically for your state (if it's required. You won't have a choice to file it, DAZ will collect it.)

Will be interesting to watch. I got an email from eBay about a petition they were sending, a couple weeks ago.

Post edited by Novica on

Comments

• KhoryKhory Posts: 3,854
    edited December 1969

That means big retailers with stores all over the country like Walmart, Best Buy and Target collect sales taxes when they sell goods over the Internet. But online retailers like eBay and Amazon don't have to collect sales taxes, except in states where they have offices or distribution centers.

Amazon is very much lobbing for this bill. Not sure how it would effect small business owners since very few of them have stores in multiple (or in many cases any) locations. That said there are already several states that require sales tax on any and all internet sales. My state does and has for around a year or so. DAZ has been taxing me in accordance with my state law for around a year I think. It didn't change my spending any though. Not everyone does charge me tax however. Not sure if they are eating the 8% or just hoping they don't get caught. And it is possible that some on line retailers will simply jump prices up nominally to cover state taxes or simply take the "hit" like they do with discounted or free shipping.

• mrposermrposer Posts: 1,127
    edited December 1969