800 x 640 - 515K
  • KinichKinich Posts: 857
    edited December 1969

Look what I found hiding in my archive.

Bee-1.jpg
    800 x 533 - 397K
  • SzarkSzark Posts: 10,634
    edited December 1969

Love the flying shots, Mallard pretty good but the Common Tern is a beauty.

Did you train that House Sparrow to pose like that becasue that is another fine shot.

I have bird feeders just about everywhere I can in our small 30 foot square garden. We get so many birds in that we often see a sparrow hawk lurking.

• frank0314frank0314 Posts: 13,351
    edited December 1969

I have a couple shots of a bee but this one is much better than mine. I couldn't get close enough. This you you can see the pollen sticking to the body which is just great.

edited December 1969

Szark

Thanks the Common Tern (I'll take your word for it, I can recognise some birds but I'm far from an expert) is cropped (even with a 500mm lens) and was taken at Ranworth Broad in Norfolk. Its one of those hidden away little gems that is off the main tourist trail. They have a two storey hide/shop/snack bar at the edge of the broad, this shot was taken from one of the upstairs windows. It's about a 20-30 minute walk from the free (well it was last time I was there) car park at the edge of Malthouse Broad.

The Sparrow was a grab shot at Maldon (on the Essex coast) from about 3m away according to the Exif data, the reeds are at the edge of a large wildlife pond with paths all around it and the birds appear to be fairly used to people passing by so you can get some pretty good close up shots even with a moderate lens (this is a cropped shot taken at 135mm).