no smart content tab

nww999nww999 Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in New Users

Hello world
I'm totally new to Daz studio, and I downloaded pro 4.5 :)
I'm eager to dive into it,
but when I opened up my program, no smart content tab showed up.
It only shows "shaping" and "surfaces (color)" tab on the left side.
Also, no blank character shows up on my screen.

Do I need to download something else to get the character to appear or?...
Like I said, I'm really eager to experiment and play around with this program, but I'm a totally newbie to this (and 3-D art)
so I need this explained to me like you're explaining to a young child ^^;

Comments

• JaderailJaderail Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

If all you installed was the Daz Studio program you still need to download and install the Genesis Starter Essentials file. That gives you the Content.

• Herald of FireHerald of Fire Posts: 3,504
    edited May 2013

If you click on Window -> Panes (tabs) in the main menu you will see Smart Content available in the list. Click on it and a small window will appear which can then be docked into the sidebar by clicking and dragging it into position.

Post edited by Herald of Fire on
  • kitakoredazkitakoredaz Posts: 3,526
    edited December 1969

you can manually download default content zip (genesis Starter Essential) from your web account page,,
    and install to your daz contents directory. but Have you installed DIM to your PC too?

http://www.daz3d.com/install-manager-info
    http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/public/software/install_manager/start

it is beta tool,, but it make you simple to download contents from daz .
    though you have not so many items at current,,^^

if you install and set up DIM, I think genesis Starter Essential , Modelator mentioned above, show as Ready to Download in DIM

in this puckage,, there are genesis (base default figure of ds 4.5) ,basic morphs, some clothings,, hairs,,accessories for genesis,
    light sets , and shader etc.