Character prerequisites and possible compatibility with Genesis

NotAnArtistNotAnArtist Posts: 367
edited December 1969 in New Users

I just bought "V4 and M4 Shapes for Genesis," and it brought a question to mind. If this product actually puts those shapes onto the Genesis figure, then does it also fill the requirement for models that require a V4 or M4 morph?

For example, I'd like to get "Dulce for V4.1." She requires "Victoria 4.2 Morphs++." But, maybe the product I just bought is all I need to acquire that prerequisite. Or am I completely misunderstanding how these things function?

In that same context, what about older characters? I have a few pixie-like models which require "Aiko 3," "Millenium Kids," etc. Is there a method, or a product, that can make them compatible with the new Genesis, instead?

I'm fascinated with Genesis and its claimed flexibility. But I'm still very new at DAZ, so it's almost impossible to plan what products to buy and which paths to take in learning this stuff. My goal is eventually to create my own characters. My bizarre imagination needs to be put to use!

I tried a few search terms and didn't find this subject previously discussed, which surprises me. Thanks, folks, for any help and info that ya' all might be able to offer.

Comments

• Scott LivingstonScott Livingston Posts: 4,331
    edited June 2012

It depends on the character/product. You can use Dulce's texture on Genesis, but if you want to apply her shape/morph, you'll also need to use Generation X: http://www.daz3d.com/shop/genesis-generation-x/. (not sure if the Victoria 4.2 Morphs ++ are also required to make this work).

Some characters are built to be used with V4 or Genesis (or M4 or Genesis). These often require the V4 and M4 shapes, but since they are Genesis characters, you won't need to get GenX for them.

Post edited by Scott Livingston on
  • fixmypcmikefixmypcmike Posts: 19,565
    edited December 1969