Need help with Genesis

jaebeajaebea Posts: 454
edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

I am relatively new to Carrara. I have been going through tutorials to learn with the goal of adding Carrara into my workflow. I am starting a new animation project and I have created a custom male figure using an M4 texture map in DS....I will be using both Carrara and DS for this animation. The problem: having a hard time getting my custom Genesis into Carrara complete and animatable. Here is what I have tried.

1 - Created a custom character preset in DS and applied it to a male Genesis figure in Carrara. Instead of creating my character, it created a second, total gray figure.

2 - Created a scene subset in DS and imported into Carrara: texture came over but lost all the morphs.

3 - Tried to import a whole scene with just a custom figure in it (duf) but errored out and would not load.

4 - Saved as collada and brought into Carrara. Texture and morphs came in and rendered beautifully but came is totally static. Can animation be brought in with collada? There is no way to move this figure.

I didn't try fbx because I have read complaints that morphs don't follow. I am at a loss here. How can I get my fully animatable custom Genesis into Carrara? I could use M4, however, the outfit I have chosen is for Genesis only and I don't see Crossdresser support for Genesis yet.

Comments

• bighbigh Posts: 8,147
    edited December 1969

jaebea said:
    I am relatively new to Carrara. I have been going through tutorials to learn with the goal of adding Carrara into my workflow. I am starting a new animation project and I have created a custom male figure using an M4 texture map in DS....I will be using both Carrara and DS for this animation. The problem: having a hard time getting my custom Genesis into Carrara complete and animatable. Here is what I have tried.