How to create custom content that shows up in DAZ?

edited December 1969 in Daz Studio Discussion

I've already started making obj files and the like for others to share here: http://www.sharecg.com/pf/full_uploads.php?pf_user_name=AuroraMoon

But the problem is... I'm pretty much clueless when it comes to putting things in the right folder and also for putting it in a zip file for others to have so that it shows up in THEIR Daz program, instead of having them export it into their program manually using my obj files.

I'm a newbie when it comes to making Daz files, etc so I would like some advice on that. I don't need tutorials on how to create clothing because I already know that stuff. what I need is something that helps me learn how to make custom content for others to use easily. ie, have it show up in the Daz folder/browsers within the program with a easy click.

Comments

• StratDragonStratDragon Posts: 3,167
    edited April 2013

Unless these are specifically Daz Studio exclusive items the packaging is the same as Poser
    objj in Runtime/Geometries, .jpg in Runtime/Textures, .CR2's in Runtime/Libraries/Character, etc.
    Daz Studio pretty much reads .CR2, FC2, PZ2,etc.

the only time when you you would or should run into the Daz Studio data folder (e.g. My Documents/Daz3d/Studio x/Content/Data) is when you have saved a Studio Scene (e.g. .DUF) file and you want to load the item via a scene.
    When you save the scene it creates a data folder in \\Data\(version #)\
    you would need to find the folder it created and include that in the zip file. the Data folder location is not as specific as the runtime hierarchy.