Critique and Tips Please!

BlackbirdwakeBlackbirdwake Posts: 0
edited May 2012 in Art Studio

Okay, so I'm new to Daz, just started working in it this month, and I've been pouring over tutorials. Today I finally tried to make the most realistic face I could. I'm posting here in hopes that you all may be willing to take a look and give me some tips and critiques. (Please ignore the neck, I know it doesn't match the face...)

Credits: Okay, so this is Vicky 4.2 with the Priscilla MAT by PDesign combined Priscilla's Bump map as the Displacement Map and with a custom Bump map. The hair is Flexy Hair by Bice & Outoftouch. The expression is from freeposes.net. The light is a slightly modified version of Arey Soul's Hanyma Skin Light. Rendered in Daz with the standard 3Delight.

I appreciate any help you all have to offer.

Image removed by a moderator till resized...please see this thread for info: http://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/510_98/

Post edited by Blackbirdwake on

Comments

• KhoryKhory Posts: 3,854
    edited December 1969

Couple of thoughts..First is that I suspect you did not make any adjustment to the focal length of the camera for such a close up render. Try changing it to around 120 and see if that gives you a better shape on her face. Second ..and I could be wrong because I don't have those lights, but AS works mostly in poser. Poser lights can be iffy in studio. They tend to be overly bright for a scene. Try looking for some free lights for studio in the freepository. Different lighting can help a good deal with her skin color being a bit too pinky orange. You may need to adjust some of the specularity settings once you change the lighting. Perhaps a bit more on the lips for example. All that said for a beginner render it is a really good start. In fact, you missed quite a few of the pitfalls that new users generally end up in when they start so good job!

• BlackbirdwakeBlackbirdwake Posts: 0
    edited December 1969