I'm totally ignorant

lippy_75lippy_75 Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in New Users

Hi,

I've some real beginner questions here, so please bear with me,

First off, I see Daz Studio is available to download for free so was thinking of doing so. Am I right in thinking that to do anything with it, I need to download other packages, which I'll need to pay for. (That's not a problem, I just don't understand how any of this works.)

I know nothing about 3D modelling and, though I'm not computer-illiterate, I'm not the most technically gifted person around.

I'm not sure what I'd like to do with a modelling program, though I wouldn't mind trying to create a graphic novel, or similar.

Can I create images with the free program without buying anything else? (I ask that, because I don't want to spend a lot of money then find I'm rubbish at it.)

Is it difficult? Any advice for a total beginner?

Many thanks in advance.

Len

Comments

• JimmyC_2009JimmyC_2009 Posts: 8,891
    edited December 1969

Hello Len, and welcome to the forums

DAZ Studio Pro is completely free to download, and use, and the rendered images that you produce are yours to do with what you will. The restrictions apply to the base meshes, but not the renders, and that applies for paid for items as well as the free ones. You can sell or use renders for your own needs, but you cannot give away the mesh items themselves, like in a game for example, but a comic is OK.

When you 'buy' DS4.5 through the store, you will find a file called Genesis Starter Essentials there as well, and it contains all of the free items that come with DS4.5. You can use these to create your characters, but DS is NOT a modelling program. Genesis can be a man, woman, child etc, and is very versatile.