Complete Newbie questions (sorry in advance!)

chris-2233891chris-2233891 Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in New Users

Hi Folks

Before I even download daz3d, I have a couple of questions please.

I'm a complete beginner to 3D (although have been a designer for web and print for many years).

I'm thoroughly versed in Illustrator, Photoshop, InDesign, Quark, etc.

My project...

To create a 'series' of 3D figures (all based on one), in different poses for an internet site (possibly 12 in all).

My questions...

Will the app run on an old Mac (OSX 10.4.11)?
How steep a learning curve to get to grips with 3D (I understand that's possibly impossible to answer!)?

If I purchase something like this:
http://www.daz3d.com/catalogsearch/result/?q=boi&x=-1196&y=-43

To give me the basics ... I imagine, this would be far easier than trying to 'create' a figure from scratch?

If so, how easy to then 'change a pose' and create another png format image?

I will attach below a very quick PhotoShop mockup of the kind of thing I want to acheive in various poses (complete with cape, shades and graphic on chest!). Is this acheivable without years of training.

I apologise in advance for so many newbie questions, but any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• TotteTotte Posts: 13,497
    edited December 1969

hello,

chris said:

Hi Folks
    Will the app run on an old Mac (OSX 10.4.11)?

Mac™ OS X 10.5 or above.
    I guess you need to find DAZ Studio 3 to run on OS X 10.4

chris said:

How steep a learning curve to get to grips with 3D (I understand that's possibly impossible to answer!)?

To be honest, installing content at the right place and to find it when you want to use it was the hardest part, when you step that step in the ladder, most things will be clearer. Secondly, going from "looking ok" to "looking great" is a long process, having a graphic eye and some photography experience helps a lot.

chris said: