Dynamic Cloth Engine

XfitzXfitz Posts: 96
edited December 1969 in Daz Studio Discussion

Can someone point me to source information regarding Daz's Dynamic Cloth Engine? I am wondering if this is something that other Daz Artists use. If so, how should I proceed? Thanks in advance for any help.

Comments

• TheKDTheKD Posts: 2,674
    edited February 2013

If you are looking for something similar to poser cloth sim engine, as far as I know daz studio doesn't have one. They have
    http://www.daz3d.com/dynamic-clothing-control
    But if I understand correctly, it only works with clothes made specifically for the plugin.
    I am no studio expert by any stretch of the imagination, this is just what I have gathered reading forum

Post edited by TheKD on
  • Herald of FireHerald of Fire Posts: 3,504
    edited December 1969

Pretty much what KD said. The only built in support is for 'Dynamic clothing' created largely by Optifex. They have a few freebies on their site to get you started. It's not quite as easy to work with as Poser's cloth room sadly, as outfits cannot be scaled or otherwise manipulated other than fitting it to the character it belongs to. This means that body shapes which fall outside of those defaults can't wear the outfits without a lot of fiddling around.

It does work pretty well within its limited scope though, so feel free to check out their site and see for yourself what they have on offer.

• XfitzXfitz Posts: 96
    edited December 1969

Thanks. i will check out Optifex ane the Dynamic Clothing Control. It sounds like there is not much content to choose from though. Is that the case with Poser too? Or can the material room be used for all cloth(ing)? I have begun to dabble in Poser (8). Do most poser artists use the cloth sim engine frequently?

• ChoholeChohole Posts: 33,604
    edited February 2013

I love Poser dynamics. But then I am a Poser user., don't use DS. I use Bryce and Poser.