Minor OBJ Import Issue - Object Slightly Moved Down on Import

I am very new to using Daz Studio, but I've been learning. I model in other software, such as Luxology's modo. Here is what I've done as well as a minor issue that I am encountering (and I hope someone here can point me in the direction to fix this).

I've exported the Michael 4 character to OBJ and imported him into modo to create armored pieces for the model. The armored pieces have been exported as OBJ so that I can import them into Daz Studio to "attach" them to the Michael model for posing. When I import in the OBJ armor pieces, I select "modo" for the Import From to set the proper scale. But the model comes in just slightly down on the X axis. I then select the imported model and move it up just enough to be positioned on the Michael character properly. So far, all's good.

I then convert the Michael 4 character by going to Edit>Rigging>Convert Figure to Weight Mapping and selecting TriAx. Then I use the Assets>Transfer Utility, setting the source to Michael and the target to my imported model.

After using the Transfer Utility, the imported model slides down again to where it was before! Thus a helmet, for example, has a part of Michael's head poking through the top! My question is, how do I use the Transfer Utility so that the imported model does not move after I've positioned it?

Thanks for any help.

Comments

• edited December 1969

I can't find a way to make this work in Daz Studio, but I can make this work by simply adjusting the height of the object in modo an re-exporting. Hmmm ...

• Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 96,718
    edited December 1969

Are you sure Michael4 was zeroed when you exported him? The Transfer Utility does work on the zero position of the emsh, ignoring any adjustments made in DS - you can either adjust in the modeller, otr export the modified OBJ and reimport it to freeze the modifications.

• edited December 1969