RIB and (rudimentary) network rendering

luca_0e1f976d66luca_0e1f976d66 Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in Daz Studio Discussion

I am quite new to the subject and I started playing with RIB following some indications given in a previous post.

Questions
- I am saving the RIB on one shared directory and rendering with a second computer where only the 3Delight engine is istalled. This is the best form of "network computing" I was able to utilize so far with DAZ (as Reality seems to me so much slower even if it actually distributes the load on the network). Anyone have suggestions on how to use this basic "RIB" method in a more efficient way?

- Even on the same computer I can see that saving as RIB and rendering with 3Delight alone is much less demanding (in terms of PC loads) than rendering inside DAZ. Not only I can keep using DAZ editor while rendering externally but I don't have major pc overflows (and slow downs while working) even rendering complex scenes with several figures and lights/shadows. I am surprised and I was wondering why if I render inside DAZ I have to stop using it (no multi thread possible?) and I cannot use any other program (like Word Excel etc) and if I use the 3Delight external engine for the same render I can keep using DAZ and work with other programs if I need without major slowdowns. Did I configure something wrong inside DAZ or is that a common thing?

Comments

• JimmyC_2009JimmyC_2009 Posts: 8,891
    edited January 2013

I think that the free standalone 3Delight render engine is restricted to using two cores (from memory), but the one that DS uses is not restricted at all, and can use all available cores. That is why when DS is running a render, all of your cores are being used.