DAZ Collada (DAE) import oddity

clive_27d11c9e1bclive_27d11c9e1b Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

Hi I'm new to Carrara - but a long time Poser user

I'm possibly starting in an odd place, but I have some existing models in a non-standard format (includes meshes, morphs and bones), so I'm writting a translator to the DAZ collada format (as that seems most appropraite for models with morphs)

I'm starting by generating some simple geometries (basically modified cubes), and looking at the DAE files generated.

Here's my question. I added a simple morph to a cube, and saved the scene in DAZ collada format. When I reload it, the Morph Area list is empty, or at least It has a defined slot, but with no name. Clicking on the slot and the slider for the correctly named target appears.

Should this happen?

(to add to my confusion, if I save in standard Collada format, when I reload both the morph area and target have disappeared)

Thanks for any help

Comments

• Kodiak3dKodiak3d Posts: 223
    edited December 1969

DAZ never really perfected the Collada format or DAZ Collada. With the invention of the .DUF format, I think hopes it .DAE ever working properly are low.

• bighbigh Posts: 8,147
    edited January 2013

CliveP said:
    Hi I'm new to Carrara - but a long time Poser user

I'm possibly starting in an odd place, but I have some existing models in a non-standard format (includes meshes, morphs and bones), so I'm writting a translator to the DAZ collada format (as that seems most appropraite for models with morphs)

I'm starting by generating some simple geometries (basically modified cubes), and looking at the DAE files generated.

Here's my question. I added a simple morph to a cube, and saved the scene in DAZ collada format. When I reload it, the Morph Area list is empty, or at least It has a defined slot, but with no name. Clicking on the slot and the slider for the correctly named target appears.

Should this happen?