Errant edge and vertex

dot_batdot_bat Posts: 373
edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

Greetings all, I hope someone can help me with this.
I modeled this in hexagon and brought it in to carrara to texture and while making shading domains and hiding selections I get this curious edge and vertex when I click in the window. The vertex at the bottom of the edge is below the bottom of the bottle and is not connected to anything. I cant select it. If I select all by keyboard command the edge and vertex are not selected and it appears clean. Granted I am not very good at modeling but plod along until something like this comes along. Sorry for the long winded question. Oh and one other thing, why am i left with those vertices in image 2 when I cut and paste? Thanx very much. And if anyone is suspicious that this post is a joke, rest assured it is not. Thanx again

Comments

• edited December 1969

I too use HEX as my number one modeler then export import into Carrara but have never run across this!

Try this in Carrara .. select the ERRANT POINT then select dissolve, I think is what it is. OR find out what PLOY it belongs to and simple DRAG it up to your liking.

• McGuiverMcGuiver Posts: 219
    edited December 1969

Are you in the vertex modeler when you are trying to delete the stray vertex ?

I have found that if you are doing ruled surfaces,double sweeps, Gordons, or coons in the vertex modeler you will get strays such as you are showing, but to delete them you must be in the modeling room....use the sissors to cut em out.

• mjc1016mjc1016 Posts: 15,001
    edited December 1969

Without looking at the actual file, I'd say part of the problem is duplicated vertices...try 'welding' or removing doubles or what ever Hex or Carrara offer. The rest may be from subdivision/smoothing...especially with 'extra' verts.

But often, when an errant vert pops up like that, you need to scrap it and start over. In this case, probably just redo the cap...