Dynamic Clothing

Comments

• TooncesToonces Posts: 919

I'm waiting on a long animation, so figured I'd start a cheat sheet. Take these suggestions with a huge grain of salt as I'm new to daz3d and vwd. I'm also writing this from memory so the button names may be a little off.

VWD Cheat Sheet

• Watch all videos by Biscuits on Renderosity and anything regarding 'VWD' or 'Virtual World Dynamics' on YouTube.
    • VWD comes with a PDF manual. Read it if you dare. It's huge and a little outdated and highly technical in parts. The videos mentioned above (and forums) are better.
    • Create a custom action for Start VWD script so it is easy to access in DAZ3D.
    • Utilities (optional) - Delete exchange files. Reset defaults. NOTE: This is optional. I do it for every import into VWD to avoid errors.
    • For low poly (i.e., simple/short/old) clothing, simply Start VWD. Click Host List. Pick Use Springs Reduction. Pick Collision Object (usually just the figure/person). Hit Collision (glance at the dynamic params - most likely you don't want to change them) and Collision again. (Note if you change the dynamic params, you have to hit the generate button). Pick Cloth Object. Hit Cloth button twice as you did with Collision. Vert tools. Select verticies on parts you want to remain fixed. Vert Group. Nail to Collision. Scene viewer (to make screen big). Simulate static. Optionally simulate dynamic if you have an entire animation. Stop sim when you're happy. Send to host. Your new object will appear (it actaully appears as soon as the cloth imports into VWD) and the original is hidden.
    • For high poly clothing, use decimator (see daz3d store). Follow same steps as low poly clothing from there.
    • For altering, delete the VWD object in your scene. Unhide the original object. Re-import collision and clothing into VWD and do it all over again.
    • Exit VWD after every 'send to host'. This is optional, but I feel it helps keep me from seeing errors.