Content DB Maintenance: Export User Data vs Content DB Editor: Export

linvanchenelinvanchene Posts: 1,328
edited November 2013 in Daz Studio Discussion

edited and removed by user

Post edited by linvanchene on

Comments

• Swawa3DSwawa3D Posts: 231
    edited December 2012

I'm no expert on metadata but I will try and help out.

The .DSX files in Runtime\Support\ are plain text.
    That means they can be opened in a text editor to see exactly what data they store. This includes products & the exported UserData_1.dsx file/s from Content DB Maintenance. Make sure your text editor is refreshed if it's open when you make changes to the files.

From my tests most user metadata changes seem to be saving, exporting and importing properly.

Changes made from "Content Library: Products: Content DB Editor" saves User Data for:
    Asset Value, Content Type, Categories, Compatibilities, Compatibility Base & User/Keywords. But I could NOT get it to save user data for Description, Audience or Tags (so I would use userwords/keywords instead of tags).

Changes made from "Content Library: DAZ / Poser Formats: Content DB Editor":
    As far as User Data, this seems to work the same as doing it from products (see above). It just does not save the product files & does not access the top level product information. Although if you open the product later and save it, it will update the product files with the changes. This even works after closing & re-starting DS.

Other changes made from the Content Library:
    Tags (keywords & notes) & Right clicking: Categorize all seem to be working. Categories might need to have at least 1 item assigned to them to work.

In the Content DB Editor make sure "Sync Product & Local Database" is checked. Otherwise some User Data values I listed above may not be saved on export and I ran into issues updating Compatibilities when it was off.

CMS: