Debugging SDK plugins?

shoei321shoei321 Posts: 113

What kind of tools and techniques do folks use for debugging DAZ SDK plugins? I'm an experienced Java programmer but am relatively new to C++, and unfortunately I'm not finding many of the tools I've grown to rely on in Java -- most notably, informative stack traces.

I'm running Visual Studio 2012 (also new to this, usually just an Eclipse guy) and Daz Studio 4.5 64bit. For some reason I can't get the debug configuration of my plugin to build -- error is "LINK : fatal error LNK1181: cannot open input file 'QtCored4.lib'". I imagine I need to drop in a debug version of some Qt library, but some guidance on this would be very helpful.

Beyond that, how do I go about identifying the offending line of code when I experience a hard crash in my plugin? The Daz crash error dialog's stack trace typically isn't of much use, and often doesn't even come up during a crash. Most of my problems thus far have been due to null- or uninitialized pointers, and can be painfully slow to identify if you are relying on manually stepping through code by littering it with debug print statements.

Any guidance is much appreciated!

Thanks
Ivan

Comments

• Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 96,718
    edited December 1969

Moved to the SDK forum - Developer Discussions is for DAZ Script.

• dtammdtamm Posts: 126
    edited December 1969

shoei321 said:
    What kind of tools and techniques do folks use for debugging DAZ SDK plugins? I'm an experienced Java programmer but am relatively new to C++, and unfortunately I'm not finding many of the tools I've grown to rely on in Java -- most notably, informative stack traces.