M4 and V4 character bundles

Geminii23Geminii23 Posts: 1,327
edited December 1969 in New Users

Hi,

Sorry for the novice questions here. I am new to DAZ and with all these great sales going on, I want to make sure I am getting all the stuff that I really am going to need in the future.

I see so much content online specifically for M4/V4 characters but not that much for the new M5/V5 ones. But it is very confusing to me as to whether some of these characters, costumes, props, etc. will work in the new Genesis out of the box. Or do I need to buy the base models of V4/M4 first. I also have read about this Iconic shapes pack here on the forums but still am not really clear on what that will do for me. Will it allow me to use most of this older M4/V4 content?

Thanks.

Comments

• SzarkSzark Posts: 10,634
    edited November 2012

What you will need in the future is a hard question to answer as the direction you take is your own personal choice and taste. You might buy a ton of clothing for everyday wear and end up doing Scifi etc. Daz3D won't like me for this but start slow, think about what type of images you want to make and decide accordingly. Learn about the software first is my advice.

As for M4/V4 clothing on Genesis...some will work out of the box and some won't as the Autofit tool isn't 100% perfect but does a better job now than it used to. I don't have much trouble with shirts, pants, long and short, capes can be a little fiddly to get right. Long dresses and robes can also be hit and miss too. Shoes are a real pain for me but they have gotten a little better.

If I am doing a full figure wearing footwear I stick with M4/V4 as I haven't got any Genesis made footwear yet.

Post edited by Szark on
  • tsaristtsarist Posts: 1,606
    edited December 1969

Gemini
    I would suggest starting with V4/M4. There is a ton of stuff for them. They work with Daz, Poser , and Carrara right out of the box. These is a TON of freebies for them.