Simulating Soft-boxes with UberArea Lights

mark128mark128 Posts: 1,029
edited December 1969 in New Users

I have some experience in photography and I know that studio photographers usually use soft-boxes or umbrellas for portrait lighting. They give soft light without harsh shadows that still looks very 3 dimensional and is flattering for portraits.

I found commercial products that added mesh lights that would simulate soft-boxes, like for example http://www.daz3d.com/shop/inaneglorys-photo-studio-3

That product looks very nice with lights to simulate beauty dishes as well as soft-boxes, but then I discovered that Daz Studio includes an UberArea light. There are presets to add area lights of various shapes, the plane and the disc being most useful for simulating a soft box. There has been a lot of discussion about portrait lighting, for example here http://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/1201/, but I could not find any reference to using UberArea lights to get soft-box like lighting.

Now the UberArea lights are a little weird. They are actually light emitting shaders on a surface, so you have to control them from the surface tab rather than as a light. There is some documentation on them here: http://www.omnifreaker.com/index.php?title=UberAreaLight

I decided to try to test this with a simple portrait lighting setup. The images below show the resulting render and a setup picture to show you how the area lights were placed. In studio lighting you usually place the lights 3-6 ft from the subject. You want the soft-box to look large to the model. If you place the soft-box far away, you will get hard lighting (sharply defined shadows).