Background Jpg question

DaleCar_06ae99e4f4DaleCar_06ae99e4f4 Posts: 178
edited December 1969 in The Commons

Hi

Just upgraded to Daz 4.5. For some reason. The background jpg does not fill the screen any more. This is something of a problem. This is an old series. And to keep the continuity. I need to have the old background. So how do you fix it?

Thanks,
Dale

Comments

• jerriecanjerriecan Posts: 470
    edited December 1969

The background is set to the dimensions of the render settings, and will be stretched accordingly to fit. It will fill the whole area in rendered images.

• DaleCar_06ae99e4f4DaleCar_06ae99e4f4 Posts: 178
    edited December 1969

Thanks,

I'll test that. But that seems to me a problem if positioning your characters against that background in particular places is important.

Dale

• jerriecanjerriecan Posts: 470
    edited December 1969

The background always stays in the same place, no matter what angle I choose for the objects in the scene. I'm new to D/S, so I may be totally off base here. Hopefully someone more knowledgeable will come along. :)

• ChoholeChohole Posts: 33,604
    edited November 2012

The best way to do backgrounds images is to put them on a single sided plane the same size ratio as the image.

Post edited by Chohole on
    edited December 1969

Thanks,

It does stretch to fill in the space when rendered. But no. I have to disagree. The best way to handle BG images. Is for Daz to not change the way its done this since at least Daz 2 when I started working in 3d. Not everyone needs the image glued to a plane. And for those of us that don't (or didn't). This will just add extra steps to to our workflow process.

It just destroys the perspective. Now I have an image with half a sky, and a big white gap above it. when working. Also it will effect choices when selecting a background image.

Thanks,
    Dale

• KickAir 8PKickAir 8P Posts: 1,865
    edited November 2012

chohole said: