Planet Aura

laynemoorelaynemoore Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

I'm a newbie - let's get that out of the way. I'm running Carrara 8.1 Pro on an iMac OSX Lion. I animated a simple 7 second scene of the camera slowly panning around earth while it rotates. It will be part of a ship flyby.

I created a blue aura that looked the way I wanted in the render preview. Doing the final render, I get a thick over saturated glow around the outer part of the planet that looks nothing like my preview. I messed with it for an hour last night but couldn't figure it out. Any ideas? Even better - is there a good tutorial for planet glow?

Also, the final render showed the planet rotating but the aura also rotated away leaving the final few seconds with no glow. :(

Comments

• 3drendero3drendero Posts: 2,017
    edited December 1969

A screenshot would make it easier to understand, here is a guide that may be what you need:
    www.sharecg.com/v/47716/related/3/PDF-Tutorial/A-glow-effect

• wetcircuitwetcircuit Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

Aura is a really bad post effect. I never use it because it always looks pixelated and granular, and it doesn't respect any scene scaling, just pixel width (I think).

If you have any of the plugins that give a fresnel (falloff) effect, you can make another sphere that glows blue (slightly large than your planet and cloud spheres) and set it's transparency with falloff so you can only see the edges. This will give your planet a "halo". Without falloff the transparency won't look very good...

Carrara's transparency shader has a fresnel setting as of C8..., but I am not familiar enough with it to offer settings suggestions...

• FenricFenric Posts: 351
    edited December 1969

I second Holly's suggestion: use a second sphere with Transparency (not Alpha), slightly larger - not the Aura effect.

edited December 1969

I just tried to work with the built in fresnel, but I do not think it can be purposed for this...