WINDOWS 8 ?

Comments

• Proxima ShiningProxima Shining Posts: 969
    edited December 1969

I hope you are not right and the end of desktops is not nearing, Kendall. Gamers, hobbyists and other home users are not the only ones who use PCs. Millions of people use desktops at work, any any tries to replace them with something else would be only for the worse. I work as an accountant and I sure as hell don´t expect my boss to buy me a TV to use it as a screen. I don´t need my working computer to be mobile, I work in the office the whole day and am not going anywhere.

Frankly, I cannot imagine what I would do with a tablet at work. It is good for use at home, when you want to play some games, but other than this I see no advantages for using tablet over desktop. Not to mention the problems with backache and similar health problems resulting from being hunched over a tablet for too long a time. 8 or more hours of tablet usage at work - no, thank you! Plus if you use TV as your screen at home, what if other family member/s want to watch TV? Buy another TV? Why not buy a proper desktop instead, then?

• KeryaKerya Posts: 10,943
    edited December 1969

Ooops. The nice thing about the W7 XP-Mode is the USB support.
    Without USB support you don't get the scanner to run.
    Me stays with W7, me thinks.

• Joe CotterJoe Cotter Posts: 3,258
    edited December 1969

...Yes, but the point is that the "tablet" is becoming more than enough to replace the PC in the average home..Those running "high end" applications may need more "horsepower", but the normal household does not...

The age of the PC is ending....

Yes, tablets will soon be powerful enough for most home use, they already are for many people. The big issue here is peripherals and that will be solved in time in a way that surpasses current desktop integration with peripherals, including storage, input, and output devices as well as pairing with other new items in new ways.