New Daz User - Help needed

namelessmenamelessme Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in New Users

Hello,

I'm new to Daz and require a bit of help getting started. It's not going to be one of those: 'help me with this complicated render' types of posts. It's much more basic than that... I downloaded Daz 4.0 pro when they first started giving it away, like 6 months ago, and finally got around to giving it a try. I have limited 3D experience, although do own an older version of Poser (3.0). So I get Daz 4 started and can't find much in the way of props/clothing/hair... or anything. I see the basic model, and what I expect is the genesis thingy, where I can morph him/her into different shapes, but does the free versions come with more content than this?

Based on glancing over these forums and seeing some other users missing content, I am thinking I may need to do a new install or something? Did it install incorrectly? I did try to follow the help file as to content, but that didn't result in Daz loading in any props at all.

And I do have some general newbie types of questions:

Can we adjust the font sizes in the menu? It is rather tiny to use on high resolution displays, and it seems to ignore the DPI settings I have in Windows 7. I expect there must be a way to make text larger -- I just can't find that option in settings. Otherwise, I wonder if everyone here has super vision or something...

Is there enough free content, or do we need to pay for decent models?

What are the good 'people' models? Michael, Victoria? Will older free versions of those models work with new Daz versions?

What is genesis exactly? Does it break all of the older content? Not that I own any of it, but just wondering what it means exactly. Based on quick reading, it looks like a new way their models work, yet may cause older content to need converting?