How to create light-emitting surfaced similar to "Arealight Plane"

joe_96cb244b30joe_96cb244b30 Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in Daz Studio Discussion

Hi. I am new to Daz Studio, and scratching my head over this issue. In one of the lighting presets, there is an object called "AreaLight Plane" and when this is included in a scene, the plane casts ambient light.

I need to create an identical object to this, and after some reading, believe that the way to accomplish this is by creating an object - another plane - and setting the ambient lighting to white, and the strength to 100%. However, there should also be a way to set a flag so this object will emit might, which I cannot find anywhere in the settings (from the Surfaces - Editor - All tools) .

In short, I need to know how to turn an object into a light emitter. Any help would be very much appreciated.

Regards,
Joe

Comments

• Oom FooyatOom Fooyat Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

There is a lot more to surfaces then the default material will provide. What you have done is to make a surface look like it is emitting light. The default material can not make a surface that actually emits light. If you click on "!Uber AreaLight Help" you will get a description on how to make a true light emitting surface. You can also make your own light emitter in Shader Mixer.

Cheers! Oom

• joe_96cb244b30joe_96cb244b30 Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

Thanks for the tip on the Uberlight help! I would not have found that myself.
    Best regards,
    JS

• GeorgehazeGeorgehaze Posts: 152
    edited December 1969

There is a lot more to surfaces then the default material will provide. What you have done is to make a surface look like it is emitting light. The default material can not make a surface that actually emits light. If you click on "!Uber AreaLight Help" you will get a description on how to make a true light emitting surface. You can also make your own light emitter in Shader Mixer.

Cheers! Oom