OctaneRender for Daz Studio

TatalorioTatalorio Posts: 33
edited December 1969 in The Commons

Couldn't find a post about it already, but finally I will have my prefered render in Studio without 3rd party software or export:

OctaneRender for Daz Studio - Initial Overview
http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=23663&start=10

Comments

• StonemasonStonemason Posts: 1,160
    edited December 1969

cool :)..I've been wanting to look into Octane for a while now...a D|S plugin sure makes things easier!

• 3d-username3d-username Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

i have been using octane for 8 months and it is just wonderful. the plugin will make it easier but it's easy right now once you learn octane. i may even opt to stay with the standalone version of octane even after the plugin is released.

it's a gpu renderer, so if you have a fast graphic card render times for my projects are all under 30 min, i see posts about 2 hour renders with daz or lux and I laugh because it would be 15 min in octane. need more speed, get another graphic card (nvidia).

at first my only issue was animation, that was resolved a few months ago. i'm not one for giving out technical advice, but if you are willing to invest in the learning curve it is the single best thing one can do to improve your renders.

the workflow that work for me is:

sketchup
    blender
    kinect mocap
    scupltris/goz

any/all

export into daz, add characters
    exoprt into octane
    import renders into after effects
    end

sometimes i export sketchup or blender direct into octane then export the character into octane.

• FSMCDesignsFSMCDesigns Posts: 12,552
    edited December 1969