[FIXED] DAZ 4.5 crashes very often - Known memory bug?

theMickeytheMickey Posts: 0
edited September 2012 in New Users

Dear DAZ forum,

I am relatively new to DAZ Studio and was enjoying it until I started to build more "complex" scenes with more than one or two characters. Right now it's impossible to work with DAZ Studio because it keeps crashing all the time.

I am using DAZ Studio Pro 4.5.0.114 on a MacBook Pro (latest, non-Retina model) with 8 GB of RAM, running Mac OS 10.8.1. I am experiencing this issue with both versions, 64 and 32bit, although I must say the 32bit version is far more stable (it seems to use less memory for the same operations). The MacBook itself has lots of free RAM left when working with DAZ, but as soon as DAZ needs more then 2.5 to 2.7 GB of RAM it crashes. With the 64bit version I can reproduce this crash by loading 5 Characters into an empty scene, applying different skin MATs to 4 of them, and when I try to load the fifth skin (I already tried different skin MATs to eliminate a corrupt skin) the memory usage of DAZ goes higher than 2.7 GB and DAZ crashes (with the 32bit version DAZ reaches this memory limit after the 7th or 8th character).

Shouldn't the 32bit version be able to handle up to 4 gig of memory, and the 64bit version even more? Both versions are repeatedly giving up before they even get close to 3 GB!

Is there anybody out there who is having a similar issue? Or is it something specific to my system? Any experts here, who use DAZ on MacOSX and do they have any ideas? Should I "downgrade" to version 4.0/3.0? Maybe this is a known issue and there are workarounds, which I wasn't able to find yet?

Any help would be very appreciated!

Thanks a lot in advance...

Best regards,
Mickey.

Ah, one more thing: I've already checked the MacOS crash reports but I am not getting a clue why DAZ keeps crashing. Maybe are more experienced "crash report reader" is able to point out why it crashes:

Process:         DAZStudio [1520]