Two characters walking, holding hands. How?

So the obvious problem is keeping the hands together. Theyre both walking with a stationary walk-cycle aniblock. Suggestions?

Comments

• wgdjohnwgdjohn Posts: 2,634
    edited February 2016

Please note that I've no experience in doing this. Below is just an idea.

I've not tried this but I'd try by creating a null oblject... position it on at one of the hands and parent it that character's hand...and have the other character's hand follow the null or parented to the null.

I'm sure that is likely wrong and probabably a lot easier than that... so will be wathching for the correct answer.

Post edited by wgdjohn on
  • babel25babel25 Posts: 54
    edited February 2016

I've since tried using a position constraint of one hand to the other (no intermediate null) in animate2, with the relevant arms unchecked in the aniblock layer settings - but nothing much seems to have resulted.

Post edited by babel25 on
  • You face the same problem as I had here with the added complexity that both will be moving, for me the arm was stationary. 

You can use IK on hand but not sur if aniblocks will respect it, it did not respect the old animated pose I had here, IK also adds weird stuff on sholder joint.
    I solved it by hard work depend a lot on how accurate you need it, helps that the animation loops for each step. 

• You might have to animate one loop by hand, perhaps setting keyframes on each figure separately depending on how much subtlety you want - shoulders raising and lowering at different points due to height differences, rotation of the shoulder, collar, forearm and hand, finger movement, etc.

• hphoenixhphoenix Posts: 1,335

Might want to see what mCasuals mcjAutoLimb2015 script can do for you.  https://sites.google.com/site/mcasualsdazscripts6/mcjautolimb2015

Use it in conjunction with mCasuals mcjHoldOn, and you should have a winner.  https://sites.google.com/site/mcasualsdazscripts2/mcjholdo

babel25 said: