Relighting with Iray Canvases

EsemwyEsemwy Posts: 577
edited January 2019 in Daz Studio Discussion

I felt it was time this subject got treated to a detailed explanation (with pictures), so I sat down and started making screen grabs. Presented here is what I've got so far, but there's still work to do to make this really usable. I present this in the hope that others will experiment and together we can fill in the missing pieces.

Some of the most impressive use of Iray I've seen so far is the use of Light Path Expressions (LPEs) to do advanced compositing in post. Rather than me explain the cool results, take a look here. I'm sure you've seen methods like this before, but Iray allows us to do it a bit differently. That was all done with a single render pass. I will grant that my 3D experience is rather sparse, being an engineer by trade, but I think that's seriously cool!

First, lets get a scene loaded. I started wth a very simple one, G2F (clothed and posed), A camera directly in front of the character, and a 100cm Photometric Spotlight in each of the four quadrants pointed directly at G2F. On the lights, I set them all to 100x100 rectangles at 100,000 lumens each. No light has a larger contribution than any other. 

The render environment is set to Scene Only in this particular case, but It doesn't matter since we'll be getting separate files for each lights.

DAZ Studio exposes LPEs through the canvas functionality on the Advanced Rendering tab, and makes them much simpler that writing raw expressions as seen in NVidia documentation. By default, canvases are disabled. You turn them on by selecting the Advanced tab, going to the Canvases sub-tab, and turning on canvases.