Any tips to encourage confidence in Daz Studio (or Poser or ZBrush or . . . . . . )

Sfariah DSfariah D Posts: 25,702
edited December 1969 in The Commons

I want to make more art than what I currently make but I seem to not have enough confidence in my work. I get afraid that I cannot do a render like how I imagine in my head. Does anyone have any ideas to bring up confidence level so that I can one day be a great artist that I want to be?

Also does anyone else here have issues with being afraid to do art because it might not be good? What do you do to overcome it so you can do your art work?

I am hoping this will turn into a discussion thread.

Comments

• riftwitchriftwitch Posts: 1,404
    edited December 1969

I've only just started in this new-fangled 3d art stuff this year, but as a life-long musician, I can tell you that you can't get good at what you're doing by shying away from doing it.

The best thing is to work on your renders as much as you have time for. When you run into a roadblock, ask the folks here; they seem to be more than willing to help. I've learned a LOT in the last few months.

Don't be too critical of your own work, but be willing to accept constructive criticism from others. You may find that sometimes you're your own worst critic.

In a nutshell, don't stop. Keep on rendering.

• Sfariah DSfariah D Posts: 25,702
    edited December 1969

Thanks!

I think I am having problems with controlling the mouse. That is making doing computer art a bit harder to do.

• Knight22179Knight22179 Posts: 1,195
    edited December 1969

For me, a real confidence breaker is when I post art and NO ONE comments on it. They may look at it, but no one makes a comment. I "used" to get this very frequently. Even if I asked and practically begged for constructive critisism, none was given. For me, that was a real confidence breaker and because of that, I nearly gave up posting my work anywhere because I felt that no one gave a crap about my work.