Help Creating Shaders

wolby2010wolby2010 Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

I'm a beginner with Carrara Its bit sitting around for ages and I've recently started to have a look at it I'm running Carrara 5.

I was wondering whether anyone knows how I could make a good Piano Ivory shader because its a weird material which is white but kinda yellow and smooth like marble but not shiny but I can't quite get it

Comments

• GarstorGarstor Posts: 1,411
    edited December 1969

It would probably help if you showed us some screen captures of your current attempts in the Shader room.

• wolby2010wolby2010 Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

This is what I have at the moment but as I said I'm new to it and am not quite sure what I am doing :/

PianoIvoryShadeAttemptRender.PNG
    364 x 297 - 42K
    IvoryShaderAttempt.PNG
    1116 x 630 - 202K
    edited December 1969

wolby2010 said:
    This is what I have at the moment but as I said I'm new to it and am not quite sure what I am doing :/

First thing I see is that you are trying to do this with a single solid colour. You may want to try a subtle colour gradient and mix it up with a fractal noise. Depending on the age of the keys, you might benefit from a slight shininess.

Shaders do tend to take a lot of trial and error to get just right. Your scene lighting will also play a factor too and impact how the shader looks afterward.

Looks pretty good to my eyes thus far though. You're on the right track!

• Frank__Frank__ Posts: 302
    edited July 2012

I'm fiddling with realistic shaders only for some weeks now, but the first question is to ask: how close will your camera be to the keyboard. If it's something in the background, you're fine with you're shader. If one key fills your picture, it will need some tweaking.