WIP thread New Users Contest - June 2013

Comments

• mori_mannmori_mann Posts: 1,152
    edited December 1969

Just realized that this one might have made a better entry than the one I posted ;) Ah well. The hands pretty much happened liek that. They inevitably 'poke through' each other, but skin/flesh tends to give a little when holding hands like that, doesn't it?

Enjoying seeing everyone's work in here!

Summer_Evening_Detail.jpg
    358 x 490 - 56K
  • NovicaNovica Posts: 23,859
    edited December 1969

dave said:
    First DAZ render. Suggestions?

Dave, first of all, congrats on your first render! You took on quite a challenge.
    In addition to testing a spot light on the face, if I were handed this and told "Go play!" here's what I'd do- (and keep in mind I'm a newbie too)

I would create a point light and lower it by the sitting person's face, and do either a pale orange or a pale yellow glow and test it to see how that does with your existing color. You should get a really neat pale reddish/orange glow. Or, use two point lights, and stack one above the other- and let's say your first point light is A/B/C in color, the second point light would be A-10/ B-10/C-10 to create a more diluted effect on the body- so the face would be the highlight. I love point lights!

As for spot lights, I like them coming from the side best- due to the dramatic shadows they create.

Something you might not know- I certainly didn't- that blue cube out in the viewport- if you create a spotlight (let's say spotlight 1) then select Spotlight 1 in the "view" (where normally you have Perspective view) so you have Spotlight 1 view- WHEN YOU MOVE AROUND IN THE VIEWPORT YOU ARE NOT MOVING THE VIEW, you are MOVING THE LIGHT! You might try that and see if it helps you home in on what you want to light up.