Noobish questions about clothing

JimbotiniJimbotini Posts: 44
edited December 1969 in New Users

I'll get this out of the way first, I'm a newbie. Complete and utter noob.

I have picked up a lot of info from some random tutorials and training videos (youtube and the online store) but still find myself lacking in several places. In particular (this time) with clothing movements. I understand with genesis figures you create a clothing model, conform it to a base genesis to grab all the genesis bones and weight maps then the clothing "conforms" to genesis' movements and morphs. It doesn't always work out so smoothly. Add Victoria 4 into the mix and there is another can of worms.

I've seen adding bones and weight maps to genesis clothing to make it fit and move better and I'm still trying to get that worked out right. Victoria 4's clothes don't seem to function the same way (something about difference in weight map schemes).

So the question is when you add clothing to a figure (any figure genesis/v4/m4...) then pose the figure and see a leg pop out of a dress or shirt sleeve flare up instead of down or hair poke out of a hood or hat... .... .... , how do you go about fixing it. Is there a best way or a quick and easy way?

Any recommendations for adding to a collection of books, training videos, or list of online tutorials is appreciated as well just a "here's how you do it." If there is a tutorial in the forums somewhere, then I obviously missed it just didn't know what I was looking at.

Comments

• Scott LivingstonScott Livingston Posts: 4,331
    edited December 1969