importing daz figure in to maya

edited October 2012 in New Users

Hi!

What i need to do is to fill a theater i made in maya with a lot of people, so i decided to create all this people with daz studio.
i have daz studio 4 and maya 2012.

1, i need to import a LOT of figures. i am kind of new to maya and defintely new to daz. so here is my problem i decided to test the exportimport with a simple genesis model, i did it a as a FBX , Ascii 2012. but it looks like the pants and boots didnt quite work well, here is a image of my render, he is suposed to be sitten. what i am missing? what do i need to do to export it correctly, or to correct it?

2. Since i just need people sitting in the chairs, i would like to know which is the best format to export in to maya? how can i export a figure with less polygons?- i dont want my scene to be that heavy...300 daz figures must be very tedious to render. and to do!!! is there some kind of random multiplicator , that can save me the work of make a lot of different people?

is there any tutorial about this topic ? i failed at searching for some

thanks for your advices!

gensis_en_maya.jpeg
640 x 480 - 167K
Post edited by jochaxbu_rgag_8d277b3088 on

Comments

• MedzinMedzin Posts: 337
    edited December 1969

You need to learn how to do instancing in Maya, and not export 300 characters from DS to Maya

• edited December 1969

al right, but i need at least to export some models into maya and get them rendered right. so what do i need to do to see my character right? as you see the pants and boots look big and are not fit to the boddy. thanks

• DAZ_bfurnerDAZ_bfurner Posts: 62
    edited December 1969

jochaxbu said:
    al right, but i need at least to export some models into maya and get them rendered right. so what do i need to do to see my character right? as you see the pants and boots look big and are not fit to the boddy. thanks